Skip to main content
Nov 11, 2026 4:34 PM UTC
Question

Clear Workflow Profile While Retaining Data in Cube

I would like to delete some old workflow profiles for a load process that is no longer being used. However, I need to retain the data from previous years.

I tried deleting the workflow but was shown a message “Unable to delete workflow profile [Name] Workflow Profile [Name] contains data and therefore cannot be deleted”. After I cleared the stage data from the import step, I was able to delete that old workflow profile.

I’d appreciate some help confirming the following:

  • Data will be retained in the system after clearing the staging table and deleting the workflow profile
  • Data is available to view via quickview, cubeview, XFGETCELL and can be drilled down
  • Consolidate/Force Consolidate will not reset the scenario

See below for an example workflow:

  • Forecast Data Load
    • Forecast Import - Old
      • No longer being used to load data - DELETE
      • Has data from 2022-2025 that needs to be retained
    • Forecast Import - New
      • Used to load data starting 2026 - KEEP

2 replies

Member
Nov 12, 2026 12:04 PM UTC

Hi, 

  • Data will be retained in the system after clearing the staging table and deleting the workflow profile

           If by system you mean cube then yes deleting data from stage will have no impact on that data.

  • Data is available to view via quickview, cubeview, XFGETCELL and can be drilled down

          As the data is still in the cube you can still view the data with all the usual methods. However, you will not be able to drill down as you will have deleted the imported data from the stage tables for the periods loaded via the Old workflow

  • Consolidate/Force Consolidate will not reset the scenario

         It will not reset the Scenario as there is no change to the data in the Cube

If you need to retain the data in stage, for drill down, you cannot clear it and should make the old Workflows inactive instead of clearing the data and deleting them

bjornliowAuthor
Nov 12, 2026 4:00 PM UTC

Hi Simon,

Thank you for the response!

My initial tests are still allowing me to drilldown even after clearing the staging table and deleting the old workflow. I even cleared the new workflow. Having the ability to drilldown is just a nice to have, so it’s not that important as long as the data is viewable.

I also plan to delete any data source/connector business rule that was associated with the workflow. I’m assuming the outcome and the data shouldn’t be affected.